UPMTimber

从人工到数字化–锯木厂的故事

芬兰这个国家与锯木厂有着一段高度相似的独特历史。两者都经历了三个不同的世纪、两次世界大战和独立,彼此间形成了不同寻常的纽带。

芬兰是欧洲林业资源最为丰富的国家,其 74.2% 的土地被茂密的林地覆盖。因此,该国经济与林业之间有着数百年的紧密关系。木材工业在 17 世纪实现首次增长,现在仍然占芬兰出口总额的 20% 左右。

多年来,芬欧汇川的四家锯木厂一直是这一不断变化的行业的核心,它们采用最新的技术以满足客户不断变化的需求。芬兰西海岸历史最为悠久的 Seikku 锯木厂其历史可追溯至 1872 年。


kuva3.jpg

扎根于时代

虽然工厂经过历年的翻新以跟上时代的发展,但其扎根于该行业所处于运营方式与之前截然不同的这样一个时代中。“在过去的时代,从森林到客户的整个产业链与今天完全不同,”UPM 锯木运营总监 Lauri Kunnas 说道。“当时的工作完全要依靠人力,这创造了大量工作机会。”

basic-roots-1.jpg

 
树木由人工砍伐,然后用马匹,或是通过在水中漂流的方式运至锯木厂。原木被绑扎在一起成为木筏,然后通过船只拖曳,或是自由漂流至锯木厂。毫无意外的是,在芬兰源远流长的江河流域附近,有许多锯木厂生根发芽,例如 Oulujoki、Iijoki 和 Kemijoki 河流域,因为这些河流区域可以提供便捷的交通,并且也可以利用水流作为机械的动能供应。在工厂,木材在运送给客户之前是通过人工处理的,再次通过马车或芬兰众多的水道进行运输。

basic-roots-3.jpg

 
最大的技术发展是自动化,这减少了所需的员工数量——如今的锯木厂员工数量是 18 世纪和 19 世纪员工数量的十分之一。Kunnas 说:“现在所有工作都可以通过自动方式完成。”“我们拥有自动输送机、摄像机控制系统和 IT 系统,可以按品质对木材进行分类。”

更快,更安全

在过去几年中,锯木厂引入了许多高科技设备。Jartek Invest Oy 的工程经理 Petri Järvinen 说道:“每年进入锯木厂数百万计的原木都使用 3D 计量仪和 X 射线仪进行测量。”“根据这些数据,可以对原木进行更精确地分类管理,从而适用于比之前更多的应用程序。”

此外,每块木板的各个侧面都要拍照记录,包括两端。“这种基于摄像头的质量控制可用于分析木材特性和缺陷,从而可提高木材价值,进一步优化产品并确保更一致的质量,”Järvinen 这样说道。

除了更高的效率以外,自动化也让锯木厂成为一个更安全的工作环境,在以往的砍伐、锯切和吊装作业中,工人面临着更大的风险。Kunnas 说:“那时,所有行业对安全的态度都与现今截然不同。”“当时出现过许多事故。”

拥有多元技能的员工队伍

interior-upm-timber-0142.jpg

然而,尽管锯木厂的工人较少,但他们却需要高水平的知识和技能。Kunnas 说:“他们仍然需要具备有关木材的基本知识。”“我们还需要了解并且能够操作现代计算机系统的人员。”

这意味着当今的锯木厂员工具有难以置信的多种技能,许多年轻的员工都熟悉最前沿的技术。Petri 说:“现在,锯木厂的工作并不繁重,对体力的要求也不高,而是更为注重监督和控制流程。”Petri 补充说,人们更多看到的是,今天的工人正在多个计算机屏幕前工作,而不是拿起锯子工作。

芬兰森林工业一直具有高度的环境意识,随着社会对可持续性问题的认识日益加深,这种意识也在不断提高。Kunnas 说:“我们一直都在呵护森林,确保不会过度耗用森林资源。”“即使在最早工业锯木厂所处的年代,他们也关注可持续林业的发展和管理。这是一种很好的态度,我们为今天人们一直有这样的态度而感到自豪。”

此外,锯木厂现在已发展为可提供零废弃产品。Kunnas 说:“我们将树皮用于能源再生,将锯木屑和木屑进行蒸煮以用于纸浆生产。”“副产品管理一直是流程的重要组成部分。在整个芬欧汇川,90% 以上的废物都被回收再利用。这种对可持续发展的承诺意味着芬欧汇川的锯木厂虽然扎根于历史,但始终着眼于未来。”

撰稿:Jessica Bateman
图片:UPM 锯木档案

UPMTimber
  • What's new
  • From manual to digital – a sawmill story

From manual to digital – a sawmill story

Finland and sawmills have a unique shared history. The two have experienced three different centuries, two world wars and independence together, resulting in a bond like no other.

Finland is Europe’s most heavily-forested country – a huge 74.2 per cent of its land is covered by dense woodland. As a result, the country’s economy has been intertwined with trees for centuries. The timber industry first grew in the 17th century and still makes up around 20 per cent of all Finnish exports.

UPM’s four sawmills have been at the centre of this changing industry over the years, adapting to the latest technologies to meet customers’ ever-evolving needs. The oldest, Seikku sawmill on the west coast of Finland, dates back to 1872.
 

kuva3.jpg

Basic roots

Although the mills have been renovated over the years to keep up with the times, they have their roots in an age when the industry operated very differently. “In the old days the entire chain – from the forest to the customer – was completely different,” says Lauri Kunnas, Operations Director at UPM Timber. “It was all manual work, which generated a lot of jobs.”

basic-roots-1.jpg

Trees would be felled by hand then transported to the mills using horses, or floated on the water. Logs were either tied together into rafts and pulled along by boats, or left to float freely before being gathered at the mill. Unsurprisingly, mills grew up around Finland’s long rivers, such as the Oulujoki, the Iijoki and the Kemijoki, thanks to the ease of transportation they offered and because the water could be harnessed to power machinery. Inside, the wood was handled manually before being transported to customers, again using horse and cart or Finland’s extensive waterways.
 

basic-roots-3.jpg

 
The biggest technological development has been automation, which has decreased the number of workers needed – sawmills today have around a tenth of the employees they did in the 18th and 19th centuries. “Everything can be done automatically these days,” says Kunnas. “We have automatic conveyors, a camera-controlled system, and IT-based systems to sort the wood by quality.”

Faster and Safer

The past few years have seen the introduction of much hi-tech equipment to mills. "The millions of logs that enter the sawmill each year are all measured using 3D-meters and X-Rays," says Petri Järvinen, an engineering manager at Jartek Invest Oy. "Based on the data from these, the logs can be sorted more precisely, making them suitable for more applications than ever before."

In addition, each individual board and plank is photographed from all sides, including the ends. "This type of camera-based quality control for analysing lumber features and defects allows for improved lumber value, product optimisation and more consistent quality," says Järvinen.

As well as greater efficiency, automation has made the sawmill a far safer environment for workers, who used to be more at risk in the olden days of chopping, sawing and lifting. “All industries back then had a completely different attitude towards safety than we do today,” says Kunnas. “There were a lot of accidents.”

A multi-skilled workforce

interior-upm-timber-0142.jpg

However, even though there are fewer workers at the sawmills, a high level of knowledge and skill is still demanded of them. “Basic knowledge and understanding of the wood are still needed,” says Kunnas. “We also need people who can understand and operate modern computer systems.”

This means today’s sawmill workers are incredibly multi-skilled, and many younger employees are familiar with the most cutting-edge technologies. “Nowadays, working in the sawmills isn’t so heavy or physically demanding, but more about overseeing and controlling processes,” says Petri, adding that you’re more likely to see today’s workers in front of multiple computer screens than ever picking up a saw.

The Finnish forest industry has always had a high degree of environmental awareness, and that has increased over the years as society becomes more aware of sustainability issues. “The approach has always been that we take care of the forest and make sure we do not overuse it,” says Kunnas. “Even in the days of the first industrial sawmills, they were worried about sustainably managing the forest. It’s a nice attitude and we should be proud it has always been there.”

In addition, the sawmills have developed to deliver zero-waste products. “We use the bark for energy, and boil the sawdust and chips for pulp,” says Kunnas. “By-product management has always been an important part of the process. Across UPM as a whole, over 90 per cent of our waste is recycled or recovered. This commitment to sustainability means that UPM’s sawmills, while rooted in history, are always looking towards the future.”

 

Text: Jessica Bateman
Photos: UPM Timber archives