新型原木测量设备提高了作业安全性并提供了更详细的原木信息

Other news 3.8.2018 10:00 EET

tukki-highres-8681_HeikkiRäisänen.jpg

2017 年 10 月,UPM Kaukas 锯木厂启用了新原木测量系统,目的在于提升安全性和客户满意度。采购谈判于 2017 年 5 月完成,之后位于拉彭兰塔的芬兰公司 Finnos Oy 供应了该新型测量设备。旧的 WoodX 4D X 射线原木测量系统的使用寿命已尽,而考虑更换该系统的原因还包括为了提高作业安全性,以及尽量收集更多详尽的测量数据。

Kaukas 锯木厂负责人 Antti Waajakoski 表示,更新原木测量系统后,锯木厂的原木测量数据以及作业安全性都得到了显著优化。

新型测量设备内置改良装载容器,容器内有 3D 测量和 X 射线测量设备,此外容器还有隔热和防辐射效果。原木在同一个位置接受两种测量设备的测量,将二者的测量数据结合后,可以获得比以往更详尽的原木信息。据 Waajakoski 介绍,作业安全性得到提高的原因之一是辐射减少,受益于此,系统的工作危险区更小。

 

每根原木的准确信息

在每个锯木厂,测量设备在木材验收中发挥着重要作用。“得益于新型测量系统,Kaukas 锯木厂提升了作业的现代化程度,因为更加详细的数据有助于原木分类,从而前所未有地优化深加工,”Waajakoski 表示。

Kaukas 锯木厂的产能是 500,000 立方米锯木板材。每天有几十辆卡车向锯木厂运送木材。Siru Väkeväinen 是原木测量现代化项目的项目经理,他说每根原木都经过单独测量,然后根据测量数据被分为不同等级。

 “除验收测量外,原木测量设备的部分重要任务还包括测量原木直径、减去树皮厚度以及计算节疤数量和芯材部分。该设备还能够发现腐烂和异物问题,”Väkeväinen 指出。

Väkeväinen 解释道,新测量设备实际上并没有加快木材验收的速度,但它能够完成很多以前无法完成的工作。“其中一个具体的例子是,以前我们只能在特定日期验收不同类型的木材,因为更改木材类型设置需要花大量时间。

但是使用新设备后,我们可以飞快地更改设置,因此对不同树种的验收也更加灵活,”Väkeväinen 说道。

 

作业安全性和维护轻松度增加

Siru Väkeväinen 解释道,该升级的规划流程花了数年时间。“测量准确性、辐射防护性和维护作业方面的改进都达到了预期效果,”Väkeväinen 表示。 

以前,系统部件数量巨大,维护作业进展缓慢。“旧设备的部件更多,而且通常需要拆开底部才能处理下面的线缆,因此维护作业的进度相当缓慢,”Väkeväinen 指出。

 

数十年的开发成果

Väkeväinen 表示,选中 Finnos Oy 作为供应商是因为双方都希望继续深化彼此的开发工作。

Finnos Oy 于 2016 年春季成立。Finnos 公司是在收购了原木测量设备开发和制造公司 Bintec Oy 后建立的。

Finnos Oy 总裁兼首席执行官 Jere Heikkinen 说道,Kaukas 锯木厂使用的新型原木测量设备是长期以来双方共同开发的成果。Finnos 和 UPM 都迫切地希望找到尽可能最佳的解决方案,开发工作由此展开。

“与 UPM 的共同开发工作始于上世纪 80 年代末期,因此我们可以说双方的合作源远流长,影响深远,”Heikkinen 表示。

Heikkinen 指出与 UPM 的合作具有鲜明的独特性,同时也强调与所有客户的合作都十分重要。“对每款产品都进行量身定制以满足客户的需求,然后再将产品交到客户手中,”Heikkinen 强调道。 

Finnos Oy 进入该业务领域已有两年之久,并且在这段时间内取得了显著增长。从员工数量和销售额来看,这一点显而易见。“两年内,员工从五人增至三十人,并且销售额从一百万欧元迅速攀升至六百万,”Heikkinen 说道。

尽管公司在短期内已取得了显著增长,Heikkinen 透露说,公司依然志存高远。“2017 年,我们开展了七个项目,而今年是十四个。2019 年,我们期望增至二十个,到 2020 年,我们的目标是在此基础上翻倍,”Heikkinen 说道。

Heikkinen 解释道,公司力争在国内市场取得进一步的增长,但同时也计划接触新的国外客户。部分设备已经提供给海外客户。“我们的下一个目标是进入瑞典市场,希望将其作为打开全球市场的跳板,”谈到公司的未来规划时 Heikkinen 如此说道。

New log measurement devices bring improvements

Other news 3.8.2018 10:00 EET

tukki-highres-8681_HeikkiRäisänen.jpgThe UPM Kaukas sawmill implemented new log measurement systems in October 2017 to improve safety and customer satisfaction. After the purchasing negotiations finished in May 2017, the new measurement equipment was supplied by Finnos Oy, a Finnish company based in Lappeenranta. The old WoodX 4D X-ray log measurement system had come to the end of its life, and other reasons for the replacing the system included work-safety considerations and the possibility of collecting more detailed measurement data.

The Kaukas sawmill General Director Antti Waajakoski says that both log measurement data and work safety have improved significantly at the sawmill after updating the log-measurement systems.

The 3D measurement and X-ray measurement equioment for the new devices have been located inside a modified shipping container which is thermally insulated and radiation shielded. Logs pass through both measurement devices in the same orientation, and by combining the data measured, more detailed log information can be attained than previously. According to Waajakoski, thanks to decreased radiation, the system’s safety zone has been reduced thereby improving work safety.

 

Accurate information on each log

 The measurement devices play an important role in timber receipt at every sawmill. “Thanks to the new measurement system, the Kaukas sawmill efficiency is improved, using the more detailed data to sort the logs more accurately for further processing”, Waajakoski says.

Kaukas sawmill’s production capacity currently stands at 500,000 m3 of sawn timber. Siru Väkeväinen, the project manager of the log-measurement modernisation project, says that of the many loads of timber delivered daily to Kaukas, each log is measured individually and sorted into different grades based on the measurement data .

 “One of the most important tasks for the log measurement devices is to measure the log diameter, minus the bark, and to calculate the amount of knots and heartwood. The equipment also identifies rot and foreign objects”, says Väkeväinen.

The new equipment doesn’t enable the timber to be brought in any more quickly, however, it facilitates processes that were not previously possible. “Until now, we could only accept different types of wood on certain days because changing the wood-type settings took up a lot of time. With the new equipment, settings can be altered quickly and accepting different wood species is more flexible”, Väkeväinen says.

 

Safer work and easier maintenance

 The planning process for the update took several years but was worthwhile. Siri Väkeväinen commented “The anticipated improvements to accuracy of measurements, radiation protection and maintenance work have been achieved”. 

With the old system maintenance work was slow. “There were more components in the old equipment, and the floor often had to be disassembled to work on the cabling that ran below it, making it time consuming”, says Väkeväinen.

 

The result of dozens of years of development

Väkeväinen says that Finnos Oy was selected as the supplier because the companies wanted to continue their mutual development work.

Finnos Oy was founded in Spring 2016. Finnos was formed after the company acquired Bintec Oy, which developed and manufactured log-measurement devices.

Finnos Oy’s President and CEO Jere Heikkinen says that the mutual development of the new log-measurement devices at the Kaukas sawmill are the result of long-term cooperation which started in the 1980s with Bintec. “Both Finnos and UPM have been eager to find the best possible solutions, which has spurred on the development. The nature of the collaboration with UPM has been unique; co-operation is important with all clients as each product is tailored to meet the client’s needs before it is delivered”, Heikkinen emphasises. 

Since its conception in 2016, Finnos Oy has grown substantially with the personnel increasing from five to thirty, and sales increasing from one million to six million euros. Further ambitious growth is planned: “In 2017 we delivered seven projects, and this year that number will be fourteen. In 2019 we expect to deliver twenty projects, which we intend to double in 2020”, says Heikkinen.

Heikkinen explains that while the company seeks to grow within the domestic market, they also plan to reach new foreign clients. Some equipment has already been delivered abroad. “Our next target is the Swedish market, which we hope to use as a stepping stone to the international market”.

We wish them well for the future.